Dream Journey

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

Subtitle: A Tone Poem for Symphonic Band, Opus 98

General Info

Year: 1997
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music Company, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts - $130.00   |   Score Only - $19.95


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (2+ players per part)
Oboe I-II-III (III doubling English Horn)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (4+ players per part)
B-flat Bass Clarinet (2+ players)
E-flat Contra-alto Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV (2+ players per part)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV (2+ players per part)
Trombone I-II (2+ players per part)
Bass Trombone (2+ players)
Euphonium (2+ players)
Double Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Chinese Cymbal
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Piccolo Snare Drum
  • Snare Drum (deep shell wooden)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-toms
  • Triangle (2: small and medium)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes (metal)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work was inspired by a real dream of mine, where I thought I was riding in an extremely fast train (maybe a Shinkansen - a bullet train) through time, past brilliant lights and colors, at the speed of sound.

-Program Note by composer

Commissioned by the Austin, Texas Independent School District for the 25th Anniversary of their All-City Honor Band.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Texas: V
  • Louisiana: V
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnes, J. (1998). Dream Journey : A Tone Poem for Symphonic Band, Opus 98 [score]. Southern Music Company: San Antonio, Tx.