Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Don Quixote

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
V. F. Safranek

V. F. Safranek

Subtitle: A Suite in Four Parts

General Info

Year: 1914
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of Print

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


1. A Spanish Village – 3:00
2. Sancho Panza – 2:30
3. Dulcina – 2:20
4. Don Quixote – 4:00


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe (div. a2)
Bassoon (div. a2)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III (Solo div. a2)
E-flat Alto Clarinet (div. a2)
B-flat Bass Clarinet (div. a2)
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone (div. a2)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone (div. a2)
E-flat Baritone Saxophone (div. a2)
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II-III
Horn or Alto in E-flat I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone (div. a2)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Church Bell (pitched in B-flat)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Wind Whistle


In Parts:

  • Alto Clarinet, m.64 (14 bars after rehearsal 8): All B naturals should be B-flats

- Potential errata noted by Matthew LeFebvre

Program Notes

This suite is founded on the story of the same name by Miguel de Cervantes, and of the four parts, the first three are characteristic. The fourth is somewhat descriptive, introducing the Don's warlike but sad nature. During his journey in quest of adventure he discovers the windmills. After the encounter he again sets forth, lamely at first, but eventually is again the self-confident, heroically-inclined knight of yore.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Safranek, V. (1914). Don Quixote: A Suite in Four Parts [score]. Carl Fischer: New York.