Declaration and Dance (Owens)

From Wind Repertory Project
William Owens

William Owens

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 5:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00; (digital) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $14.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Declaration and Dance was written for the Peak Music Festival of Texas, a nonprofit organization committed to excellence in music education by providing performance opportunities of the highest quality for wind bands and string ensembles. This intrepid composition strives to capture the passionate spirit of music making and celebrates the many individuals who regularly and generously give their time and talents to making the festival so successful.

The work opens with an exuberant fanfare before a brisk allegro dance section ensues, showcasing the energy and technical facility of all sections. The music then moves into an expressive slow section, revealing rich harmonies and tone colors before reassuming the original allegro tempo and driving to a rousing finale.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works