Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Death Wish

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Gemma Peacocke

Gemma Peacocke

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Gemma Peacocke
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $50.00


Full Score
Percussion I-II-III-IV (4 players), including:

  • Marimba I-II-III-IV


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I wrote Death Wish after watching a short film featuring New Zealand survivors of sexual assault. One of the survivors, Hinewirangi Kohu-Morgan, spoke about the out-of-control spiralling of her life for many years and how she developed what she called a death wish. In the piece I thought about the spooling and unspooling of energy and how we are all bound and driven by forces both within and beyond ourselves.

With the greatest of respect for Hinewirangi Kohu-Morgan who has used her life to create art and music and to help survivors of abuse and those who have perpetrated abuse.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Gemma Peacocke website Accessed 8 August 2021
  • Peacocke, G. (2019). Death Wish: For Percussion Quartet [score]. Gemma Peacocke: [New Jersey?]