Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Danza Furioso

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jonathan Ovalle

Jonathan Ovalle

Subtitle: For Solo Xylophone and Marimba Trio

General Info

Year: 2012 / 2013
Duration: c. 2:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tapspace Publications
Cost: Score (print) and Parts (digital) - $40.00; (digital) - $36.00   |   Score Only (print) - $11.00; (digital) - $11.00


Full Score
Solo Xylophone
Percussion I-II-III (3 players), including:

  • Marimba I-II-III (III 5.0 octaves (optional 4.3 octaves))


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Danza Furioso is a high-energy yet accessible feature for xylophone soloist with a backing trio of three marimbists, all sharing one instrument. With this piece, composer Jonathan Ovalle sought to combine the melodic energy of a work like Johannes BrahmsHungarian Dance No. 5 with the fervor of traditional Guatemalan and Mexican marimba.

Danza Furioso was composed in 2012 and premiered the same year at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention with the composer as soloist.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Missouri: Percussion.Ensemble.Grade B
  • Texas: Percussion Ensemble Class 1


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Ovalle, J. (2013). Danza Furioso: For Solo Xylophone and Marimba Trio [score]. Tapspace Publications: Portland, Ore.
  • Perusal score