Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Danse Negre (arr. Bukin)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (arr. Daniel Bukin)

This is the final movement of the composer's African Suite, Opus 35.

General Info

Year: 1898 / 2020
Duration: c. 7:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: T.U.X. People's Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $90.00; (digital) - $90.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Danse Negre is originally the final movement of the larger African Suite, a series of short movements inspired by the writings of African-American poet Paul Lawrence Dunbar. Scored for full orchestra, it was published in 1898. It resembles a short but festive overture in its mood; returning to the second half of its opening material following a somewhat gentler middle section.

- Program Note by Michelle Pellay-Walker for the Temple University Concert Band concert program, 6 October 2022


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Temple University (Philadelphia, Penn.) Concert Band (Lauren A. Ryals, conductor) - 6 October 2022

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Danse Negre (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Bukin) (1898/2020)

All Wind Works