Danse (arr. Scheiwiller)

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude Debussy

Claude Debussy (trans. Simon Scheiwiller)

Subtitle: Tarantelle styrienne

General Info

Year: 1809 / 2019
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Baton Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €127.00   |   Score Only (print) - €24.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle

Violincello (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Tarantelle styrienne was written in 1890 after Claude Debussy returned from Villa Medici, Italy, where he had spent over two years studying as part of the requirements of the Prix de Rome, which he received in 1883. In 1903 the composer had it reissued under the new title Danse, with a few small revisions. He probably did not like the original title for this showpiece. Although Styriennes (Styrian dances, Steiermark) were fashionable in salon music, one tends to think of dances such as the Ländler, rather than the tarantella of southern Italy.

Danse is a robust, colorful piece with a sparkling middle section and is permeated by the images of the commedia dell'arte. Its whirling syncopation is felt in the sprightly alternation of 6/8 patterns (like a true tarantella, not too fast) with 3/4 waltz rhythm.

Following Debussy's death in 1918, Maurice Ravel was asked, as an act of homage, to develop the Danse into a version for orchestra. This version was first performed in 1923 and is now transcribed for symphonic band by Swiss arranger Simon Scheiwiller.

- Program Note from publisher


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Simon Scheiwiller, personal correspondence, September 2022