Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Dancing Day (Downing)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joseph Downing

Joseph Downing

This work is the first movement of Downing's Symphony for Winds and Percussion.

General Info

Year: 1986
Duration: c. 6:35
Difficulty: IV 1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III- IV
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals (2)
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Roto-toms (5)
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks (5)
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Dancing Day, the first movement of the 30-minute symphony, is a joyous work that opens and closes with spirited multi-metered dance music. A fascinating middle section directly quotes a chorale, composed and harmonized by Ludwig Krebs (a student of Johann Sebastian Bach), which floats over angular and disjunct motives, which are developed in the second and third movement of the symphony. The closing section brings back the multi-metered dance music from the opening, this time with the Krebs chorale tune superimposed above, also in a dance style.

- Program Note by Timothy M. Smith for the San Francisco Wind Ensemble concert program, 15 October 2016


  • ABA/Ostwald Award for the entire symphony, 1985.


State Ratings

  • Arkansas: V
  • New York: Concert Band VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer