From Wind Repertory Project
Kenneth Hesketh

Kenneth Hesketh

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 14:35
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Faber Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $195.00   |   Score Only - $32.25


1. Lull Me Beyond Thee - 3:00
2. Catching of Quails - 1:55
3. My Lady's Rest - 5:55
4. Quodling's Delight - 4:35


Full Score
Flute I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass (five-string bass required)
Percussion (3 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Side Drum
  • Mark Tree
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Suspended Cymbals
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The term "danceries" can be found in a copy of Playford's Dancing Master, an extensive collection of folk and popular tunes of the seventeenth century (and no doubt earlier). This publication was used by master fiddle players to teach the various dance steps of the day to a nobleman's house or a king's court. Whilst this present set of 'danceries' cannot be said to be an aid to terpsichorean agility, I do hope that it will at least set feet tapping.

The melodies themselves are a mixture of new and old -- well, nearly. Where old occurs, it has been adapted in mood and composition and is often interspersed with completely new material. The harmonies and rhythms bring a breath of the new into these themes and add to the drama of the set.

Movement I: Lull me beyond thee: Gentle and lilting, almost a barcarole, this movement is very much a reverie. The original tune had the name 'Poor Robin's Maggot' -- a rather disconcerting title; maggot however, in seventeenth-century parlance, meant 'whim' or 'fancy.' This theme can also be found in The Beggar's Opera by John Gay (first performed in 1728) under the title "Would you have a young lady?" (Air 21).

Movement II: Catching of Quails: A colourfully buoyant scherzo on an original melody. The thematic material is shuttled around through the band to contrast with full-bodied tuttis. The last few bars fade away almost to nothing, it seems, until a final surprise!

Movement III: My Lady's Rest: A rather tender pavane, also on an original theme, with Moorish leanings. Solos for principal winds and brass with warmer tutti passages. The movement culminates with a final presentation of the theme before evaporating in held flute and trumpet chords.

Movement IV: Quodling's Delight: The final movement to the set combining one of the melodies from Playford's Dancing Master (under the title "Goddesses,' here theme 1) with an original contrasting melody (theme 2). A dramatic and exuberant ending to this first set of Danceries.

- Program Note by Kenneth Hesketh


State Ratings

  • Alabama: V
  • Louisiana: IV
  • Michigan: V
  • North Carolina: Masterworks
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer