Dakota Fanfare

From Wind Repertory Project
Erik Morales

Erik Morales

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $90.00   |   Score Only - $11.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Cabasa
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Explode into a flurry of sound with this riveting work based on a driving rhythmic pulse. Incredible trumpet flourishes open the work before the woodwinds take over to state the infectious main theme. After a whirlwind of meter changes and ensemble hits, the music returns to the opening material before a dramatic and intense accelerando, bringing the fanfare to a fiery conclusion.

- Program Note adapted by publisher

Commissioned by the students, colleagues and friends of Mr. James McKinney, director of bands at South Dakota State University.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Maryland: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Morales, E. (2010). Dakota Fanfare [score]. FJH Music: Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
  • Perusal score