Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Court Festival

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
William Byrd

William Byrd (arr. Pearson)

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: I (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Keyboard
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos
Cost: Score and Parts - $45.00   |   Score Only - $5.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II/B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II/E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
B-flat Cornets/Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone /Baritone/Bassoon
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Hand Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Snare Drum, advanced
  • Tambourine


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Court Festival is an arrangement of the composition The Earle of Oxford's Marche by Renaissance composer William Byrd. The Renaissance period (1400-1600) brought an explosion of new ideas and advancements in art, architecture, science and philosophy. The period was called Renaissance, meaning rebirth, because artistic ideals from ancient Greece were discovered.

Music was a large part of everyday life during the Renaissance. Music notation became more standardized and more like the notation we use today. During the Renaissance, music written especially for instruments became increasingly popular. Composed for court festivals and special occasions, dance music was favored by the royalty and nobility for entertainment.

The Earl of Oxford's Marche, also known as The March before the Battle, was originally written for keyboard. The stately elegance of this music captures the great dignity of a distinguished personage.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: I
  • North Carolina: II
  • Texas: I. Complete
  • West Virginia: I


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Byrd, W.; Pearson, B. (1999). Court Festival [score]. Neil A. Kjos Music: San Diego, Calif.