Cossak Dance

From Wind Repertory Project
Peter I. Tchaikovsky

Peter I. Tchaikovsky (arr. John R. Bourgeois)

Subtitle: From The Slippers

General Info

Year: 1885 / 2008
Duration: c. 3:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Wingert-Jones Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This wonderful transcription comes from the only comic opera written by Tchaikovsky, “The Slippers.” Opening with a short, stately fanfare before bursting into a flurry of rhythmic activity, the music depicts energetic Ukrainian dancers.

- Program Note by publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Tchaikovsky, P.I.; Bourgeois, J.R. (2008). Cossack Dance: From The Slippers [score]. Wingert-Jones Music: Kansas City, Mo.