Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Connacht Rhapsody

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Holsinger

David Holsinger

General Info

Year: 2014 / 2018
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: V-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $115.00   |   Score Only (print) - $14.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Claves, metal
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drums (2)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned to honor the retirement of A.G. McGrannahan from the University of Nevada, the title of this delightful work is drawn from the name of the province in West Ireland, where the McGrannahan family name originated. Written as an Irish rhapsody and using original melodic material, the composer states, "This is not a heavy composition. It's just for fun! It's a busy Irish hoe-down with a few quiet moments to honor my friend of several decades and more, on this, his retirement year." Fast paced and spirited with changing meters and occasional reflective sections, the piece offers significant technical challenges for each section.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • David Holsinger website Accessed 29 August 2021
  • Holsinger, D.; McGrannahan, A. [2018]. Connacht Rhapsody [score]. TRN Music: [Alto, N.M.].
  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist, 73/10 (May 2019), p. 28.
  • Perusal score