Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Violin and Symphonic Winds (Gottschalk)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Arthur Gottschalk

Arthur Gottschalk

General Info

Year: 2003
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: Virtuoso (solo); V (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Unpublished. Contact Arthur Gottschalk
Cost: Score and Parts - $500.00


1. Cadenzas - Kabbalah
2. Largo - Holocaust
3. Scherzo -Klezmerlich


Full Score
Solo Violin
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Concerto for Violin and Symphonic Winds was commissioned by violin virtuoso Kenneth Goldsmith, in celebration of his 60th birthday, and is dedicated to him. A man and musician of immense character, the music attempts to reflect this through three character-driven movements, whose subtitles carry the program.

- Program Note by composer


  • Primo Premio of the XXV Concorso Internazionale di Composizione Originale, Corciano, Italy, 2006.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Concordia College (Moorhead, Minn.) Band (Peter Haberman, conductor) – 11 November 2018
  • Fermo Orchestra Fiatti (Corciano, Italy) (Angelo Borciaghi, conductor) - 17 August 2008
  • Rice University (Houston, Tx.) Wind Ensemble (Marie Speziale, conductor; Kenneth Goldsmith, violin) - 29 March 2007
  • University of North Carolina Greensboro Wind Symphony (John Locke, conductor; John Fadial, violin) - 13 October 2006

Works for Winds by This Composer