Concerto for Two Trumpets

From Wind Repertory Project
Erik Morales

Erik Morales

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 17:55
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Morales Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $79.95


1. Boldly – 6:30
2. Rubato – 6:10
3. Allegro – 6:35


Full Score
Solo B-flat Trumpet I-II
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This three-movement work can be best described as a celebration of all that is great about the trumpet. In keeping with my philosophy of the importance of melody, each movement is carefully crafted to entertain and engage the listener.

The piece was designed specifically for two B-flat trumpets. My goal was to have the two soloists as “equals”. So there are several passages where both soloists are playing in unison. This fortifies the melodic passages with a deep, full sounding chorus effect. Each soloist has an opportunity to shine. All three movements are designed to run together with little to no “break time” in between.

This work was made possible through a consortium organized by Professor James Ackley of the University of South Carolina. The piece was debuted at the 2013 International Trumpet Guild Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by a consortium organized by Professor James Ackley, University of South Carolina, for premier performance at the 2013 International Trumpet Guild Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan, U.S.A.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer