Concerto for Two Piccolos

From Wind Repertory Project
Valentin Rathgeber

Valentin Rathgeber (arr. David Marlatt)

This work bears the designation Opus 6, No. 15.

General Info

Year: 1728 / 2017
Duration: c. 8:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: 2 trumpets and strings
Publisher: Eighth Note Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $20.00


1. Allegro moderato
2. Largo
3. Allegro


Full Score
Solo C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II-III


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This Concerto by Johann Valentin Rathgeber was originally written for two trumpets and strings. Rathgeber was a preacher and choir director but wrote one set of 24 concertos for various instruments. This work is not unlike the double Trumpet Concerto of Antonio Vivaldi with the two outer movements full of imitation and rhythmic interest.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer