Concerto for Trombone and Military Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (ed. Clark McAlister)

General Info

Year: 1878 / 1981
Duration: c. 10:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Masters Music Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $85.00   |   Score Only - $35.00


1. Allegro Vivace - 2:35
2. Andante Cantabile - 3:36
3. Allegro - 4:55


Full Score
Solo Trombone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

When writing of his concerti for clarinet, oboe and trombone, Rimsky-Korsakov states, "These compositions of mine were written primarily to provide the concerts with solo pieces of less hackneyed nature than the usual; secondly, that I myself might master the virtuoso style, so unfamiliar to me, with its solo and tutti, its cadences, etc. The finale of the trombone concerto was not bad taken all in all, and was effectively orchestrated. "

The trombone concerto was performed for the first time on 16 March 1878.

- Program Note by Clark McAlister


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Rimsky-Korsakov, N. [1981]. Concerto for Trombone and Military Band [score]. Belwin Mills: Melville, N.Y.