Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Timpani and Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Gordon Jacob

Gordon Jacob

General Info

Year: 1984 / 1988
Duration: c. 12:30
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G & M Brand
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $130.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


1. Allegro moderato
2. Adagio
3. Allegro molto


Full Score
Solo Timpani
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The nature of the timpani means that musical development is rhythmic rather than tonal. In the first movement, a broad theme is announced by the timpani themselves, and immediately echoed and modified by the full wind band. Material is embroidered by woodwinds and developed by the soloist. The second movement (Adagio) is virtually an aria in which we are left with an expressive mood conjured from the timpani themselves. The last movement is a romp -- characteristic use of quasi-folk material is well suited to the band and the rhythmic characteristics of the timpani are highlighted.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Jacob, G. (1988). Concerto for Timpani and Band [score]. G&M Brand: Wingrave, Bucks, England.
  • Perusal Score