Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Wind Ensemble

From Wind Repertory Project
David Maslanka

David Maslanka

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 33:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: David Maslanka
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $399.00; (digital) - $279.00   |   Score Only (print) - $79.00; (digital) - $54.00


1. Inward – 11:55
2. Moving assertive – 8:25
3. Dramatic/motoric – 10:25


Full Score
Solo Soprano Saxophone
Solo Alto Saxophone
Solo B-flat Tenor Saxophone
Solo E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (II doubling Alto Flute)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II (II doubling Contrabassoon)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II (I doubling Piccolo Trumpet)
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Suspended Cymbal, large
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle, large and small
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

For a period of time in the past year my musical listening was intently focused on the keyboard concertos of J.S. Bach. The invention of the keyboard concerto is attributed to Bach. His pieces in this genre are small musical gems, finding an exquisite balance of feeling, technique, and form. It is the element of balance that intrigues me the most – letting the music speak what it needs to as economically as possible.

My Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Wind Ensemble reflects some of these values. It is not programmatic – no stories to tell beyond what the music wants to say, and what it sparks in each listener. The three movements are substantial but concise. The solo quartet is often integrated into the accompanying group in the fashion of a Baroque concerto grosso.

Two chorale melodies appear in the concerto, We Should Now Praise Christ, and Only Trust in God to Guide You. I have used chorale melodies in my music for many years. These melodies open something deep in me. The chorales have transformed my composing, and my composing has absorbed and transformed the chorales. My use of the chorales is not about preaching the Christian faith, but feeling the full power of melodies that have grown out of the earth, and through centuries of human experience. They have been my doorway to the roots of our musical language.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Maslanka, D. (2012). Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Wind Ensemble [score]. Maslanka Press: New York.
  • Perusal score