Concerto for Piano and Wind Orchestra

From Wind Repertory Project
Judith Lang Zaimont

Judith Lang Zaimont

Subtitle: Solar Traveller

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 25:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Subito Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $45.00


1. Outward bound
2. Nocturne (Lunar)
3. Ad astra per aspera


Full Score
Solo Piano
C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Roto-toms
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-toms (5)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Over the course of the concerto the intervals from which the themes are built compress, from 3rds in mvt. one, to 2nds in movement two, and pounding unisons in movement three. Thus, the Solar Traveller pianist physically experiences the compressive forces and increased tensions we associate with space travel’s incredible speeds through the musical analog of progressive intervallic compression.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 524.
  • Judith Lang Zaimont website Accessed 6 April 2021
  • Zaimont, J. (2009). Concerto for Piano and Wind Orchestra: Solar Traveller [score]. Subito Music: Verona, N.J.