Concerto for Piano and Orchestral Winds & Percussion

From Wind Repertory Project
(Redirected from Concerto for Piano (Bryant))
Steven Bryant

Steven Bryant

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Steven Bryant
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) – Rental ($450.00)   |   Score Only (print) - $50.00; (digital) - $50.00


1. Meditative – 9:45
2. Bold, yet playful – 5:45


Full Score
Solo Piano
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II (II doubles contra-bassoon)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crotale
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Sandblock
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Concerto for Piano, commissioned by Pamela Mia Paul, continues my fascination with creating large works out of the smallest possible amount of initial musical material. In this piece, both movements are constructed from the exact same set of descending dyads, though they diverge widely in character and tempo.

Movement I is a meditation on these intervals, gradually unfolding from the solo piano opening into an ever-cascading fall of melodic motion, until we finally “land” in Ab major, at which point the music reverses direction, ascending to a euphoric climax. The music dissipates, evaporating upward into solo piano, just as it began.

Movement II erupts boldly into a playful interweaving of syncopated gestures, with the piano and ensemble often careening abruptly around sharp rhythmic and dynamic curves, as well as around each other. A groove eventually establishes itself, as the piece incessantly intensifies to a climactic conclusion.

I owe a debt of gratitude to Pamela Mia Paul for commissioning this work, and for her absolutely devoted and tireless support, extraordinary musicianship, and jovial attitude throughout the creation of this work.

Scored for orchestral winds and percussion, the instrumentation is suitable for both symphony orchestras and wind ensembles.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Symphony Band (David Thornton, conductor; Derek Polischuk, piano) – 5 February 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bryant, S.; Paul, P. (2012). Concerto for Piano and Orchestral Winds & Percussion [score]. Steven Bryant Music: [Durham, N.C.].
  • Perusal score
  • Steven Bryant website Accessed 30 January 2019