Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Horn (Hermann)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ralph Hermann

Ralph Hermann

General Info

Year: 1958
Duration: c. 9:15
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Educational Music Service
Cost: Score and Parts- Out of print.


1. Allegretto
2. Andante Moderato - 4:12
3. Allegro - 5:08


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (Bass Clef)
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The first full concerto originally written for solo horn with concert band was a collaborative project with James Chambers and the American Bandmasters Association (ABA). It was premiered on March 9, 1957, at the ABA Convention, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with the U.S. Air Force Band and Mr. Chambers as soloist.

All or part of the work may have been previewed as a “Sonata” on a program of the 1955 American School Band Directors Association Convention. No evidence of a sonata exists, but both Mr. Chambers and Mr. Hermann are listed in the program on a performance.

The first edition, for band or orchestra, was published by Educational Music Service in 1958. The second edition reduced the score significantly, from a total length of twelve minutes down to eight. In the process, the band parts were edited and left out the cut sections, while the score and solo part continued to include all the material. This confusion must be cleared up by reviewing the publisher’s notes and making the noted cuts in the score and solo part. The solo with piano accompaniment may be performed in its entirety. Publication rights were transferred to Podium Music in 1962, which was subsequently bought out by Jenson Publications and Hal Leonard. Company officials have no knowledge of the work in their inventory, and it is considered out of print.

The original manuscript resides in the Nutt Archives of VanderCook College in Chicago, Illinois, showing the full instrumentation of the original length version.

-Program Note from Horn and Band Info


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) Symphonic Band (Jerry Luckhardt, conductor; Emily Green, horn) – 6 March 2018
  • Los Angeles Symphonic Winds (Stephen Piazza, conductor; Jennifer Bliman, French horn) - 26 October 2014
  • College of Wooster Symphonic Band - 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer