Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Clarinet (Navarro)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Oscar Navarro

Oscar Navarro

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 15:30
Difficulty: IV (solo) / III (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Óscar Navarro
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €175.00


Full Score
Solo B-flat Clarinet
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
B-flat Flugenhorn I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drum Set
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Concerto for Clarinet is a work full of emotions and rhythm. With a soft touch of jazz it becomes a very easily enjoyable piece to all lovers of good music. At glance, this concerto exploits a wide range of the technical possibilities of the clarinet, making use of most of its range. The virtuosity it presents in much of the concerto nicely contrasts with some of its middle section, in which the melodies blend in with the environment, with a fresh and passionate approach.

During this section the composer is capable of pushing the limits of dynamics through the use of infinite pianissimos that hypnotize us until realizing the pure essence of music.

In the final section, he makes the clarinet virtuoso showcase his/her playing abilities whilst demonstrating the greatest technique, all wrapped up in a catchy rhythmic that will thrill us until the end.

It is a work intended for an audience open to rhythmic and harmonic variety, and who is willing to receive a series of sensations that only good music knows how to offer.

Dedicated to the great Belgian clarinetist Eddy Vanoosthuyse, this concert was composed by Navarro in the Christmas of 2006. It was premiered in Brussels, March 2007.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Navarro, O. (2009). Concerto : Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Band [score]. Valencia Rivera D.L..
  • Oscar Navarro website Accessed 31 January 2017