Concerto for Bass Trombone and Band (Bourgeois)

From Wind Repertory Project
Derek Bourgeois

Derek Bourgeois

This work bears the designation Opus 239.

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 16:50
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: HAFABRA Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €167.00   |   Score Only (print) - €34.00


1. Allegro con energico – 6:05
2. Adagio molto – 6:15
3. Allegro molto vivace – 3:52


Full Score
Solo Trombone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

English composer Derek Bourgeois wrote his Concerto for Bass Trombone and Band in 2006. It was written for and dedicated to Jos Jansen. Tonight’s performance of the first movement is a bright, fun, and technically challenging piece for solo bass trombone, and includes much interplay between the band and the soloist. The piece features many measures of 7/4 and 7/8 time signatures and shows off the full range and technical capabilities of the bass trombone, often not heard in the wind band setting. The piece concludes with a virtuosic cadenza by the soloist before a short and broad coda by the ensemble.

- Program Note by Josph D. Conti for the Appalachian State University Wind Ensemble concert program, 29 April 2019

Commissioned by and dedicated to Jos Jansen.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Serenade (Flex instrumentation) (adapt. Brand) (1965/1980/2020)

All Wind Works