Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Michael Ball

Michael Ball

General Info

Year: 1994
Duration: c. 14:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maecenas Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - £81.50   |   Score Only (print) - £20.50

Movements (played without pause)

1. Allegro con brio
2. Moderato - subito piu mosso - Lento - Cadenza
3. Vivace


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Solo Alto Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (2: large and small)
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-toms
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work is in three interconnected movements playing without a break: the first is brash and argumentative, the second a nostalgic, gently swung nocturne linked to the finale by a solo cadenza. The Concerto explores and exploits the full capabilities of both soloist and instrument, much of the final section being off the normal range and into the extreme register. There are no such terrors for the band, however, whose scoring includes only three saxophones so that ensembles with a talented first alto player can field their own soloist.

The Concerto was commissioned by Timothy Reynish and first performed by Rob Buckland (the dedicatee) and the Northamptonshire County Youth Concert Band, conductor Alan Suttie, during the 1994 BASBWE Conference at St Paul's Concert Hall, Huddersfield, on 17 September 1994

- Program Note by World Association of Symphonic Bands and Ensembles (WASBE)



State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northamptonshire County (U.K.) Youth Concert Band (Alan Suttie, conductor; Rob Buckland, saxophone) - 17 September 1994 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer