Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto für Klavier und Blasorchester

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hermann Regner

Hermann Regner

General Info

Year: 2004 / 2005
Duration: c. 11:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Thomi-Berg Musikverlag
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €199.00   |   Score Only (print) - €35.00


1. Toccata – 5:05
2. Romanza – 4:20
3. Ballata – 2:45


Full Score
Solo Piano
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bicycle Bell
  • Bongos
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This short concerto, of only 11 minutes, was written in 2004, and it is designed for young players. It is cast in three movements, Toccata, Romanza, and Ballata.

The instrumentation chosen by Regner is that of the standard wind band, with the addition of double bass, contrabassoon, harp and a large percussion set, including a bicycle bell.

- Program Note from WASBE

The English translation of the Italian word "concertare" is "to vie" or "to rival." In this work it is the piano and the symphonic wind band which are paired together, but sometimes find themselves in opposition.

Why is the piano chosen, that well-established instrument that is rarely combined with the symphonic wind band? The composer wishes to bring together two worlds, that of the keyboard instrument --having a wealth of solo and chamber music literature --and that of the younger symphonic wind band, with its broad range of tonal colours. In rehearsals and performance, both parties have opportunities to learn from each other, whether it be by making adjustments in sound and balance, or by listening and learning when to play a leading or a supportive role.

All three movements have Italian titles, as does the entire work. The Toccata is a percussive movement, followed by the Romanza. Here, it is mainly the piano that portrays the calm and tender (tranquillo e teneramente) theme. The work closes with the Ballata, a cheerful and frolicsome dance movement.

I wish to thank Albert Schwarzmann for his suggestions on instrumentation and for preparing the manuscript for printing.

- Program Note by composer (translated)


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer