Concerto No. 1

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Saucedo

Richard Saucedo

Subtitle: For Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 8:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $135.00; (digital) - $135.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

It was a real honor to be commissioned by the South Carolina Band Directors Association to write Concerto No. 1 for Wind Orchestra. I am writing these notes about a month before the premiere of the piece by the South Carolina Senior All-State Band, a group that I will have the wonderful privilege to conduct during the 2016 South Carolina All-State Weekend. I owe a great deal of gratitude to my friend and colleague Joe Golledge for approaching me about writing the piece. Joe is one of the outstanding South Carolina band directors for which I have tremendous respect. To have him ask me to do the commission meant the world.

As with any piece that has "Concerto" in the title, the idea is to show off and/or feature a specific instrument or group of instruments. In the case of Concerto No. 1, the entire ensemble is featured throughout, although there are also concerto-type moments for solo instruments as well as chamber groups, with the horns being featured prominently throughout the piece.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works