Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto Grosso for Woodwind Quartet and Wind Orchestra

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Heitor Villa-Lobos

Heitor Villa-Lobos (arr. Bruce Taub)

General Info

Year: 1959 / 1993
Duration: c. 18:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Edition Peters
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental


1. Allegro non troppo - 4:35
2. Allegretto scherzando - 4:15
3. Andante – molto allegro - 9:24


Full Score
Solo Flute
Solo Clarinet
Solo Oboe
Solo Bassoon
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV-V-VI
Trombone I-II-III-IV-V-VI
String Bass (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Heitor Villa-Lobos is the most significant Brazilian composer of the twentieth century. He was the first national composer to successfully fuse a contemporary European language with the native folk music styles of Brazil, creating a recognizable style that influenced many composers such as Darius Milhaud. Villa-Lobos’s early music education was provided by his father, who taught him to play the cello. Villa-Lobos was largely self-taught as a composer. Despite this potential limitation, he wrote with incredible facility and produced nearly 2,000 compositions. Many of his works have an almost improvisational feel.

Composed in Mexico, Concerto Grosso for Woodwind Quartet and Wind Orchestra is one of two original pieces Villa-Lobos wrote for wind band. The work was commissioned for Robert Boudreau and the American Wind Symphony, who specifically requested that the composer use the concerto grosso format with four soloists — flute, oboe, clarinet, and bassoon. Villa-Lobos was among the first composers Boudreau commissioned to write for the American Wind Symphony, and his collaboration with the composer came just in time. Shortly after the premiere of the Concerto Grosso in Pittsburgh, on July 5, 1959, the ailing Villa-Lobos returned to Rio de Janeiro and died only a few months later.

- Program Note from Kent Wind Ensemble concert program, 22 February 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Villa-Lobos, H. (1993). Concerto Grosso For Woodwind Quartet and Wind Orchestra [score]. C.F. Peters: New York.