Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto Grosso (Bennett)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Russell Bennett

Robert Russell Bennett

Subtitle: Concerto for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, and Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 1958 / 1959
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Edition Peters
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental


1. Adagio – 5:38
2. Andante con moto – 5:15
3. Moderato en due – 2:40
4. Allegro moderato, ma energico – 3:25


Full Score
Solo Flute
Solo Oboe
Solo Bassoon
Solo Clarinet
Solo Horn
C Piccolo I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV-V
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
C Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV-V
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Bass Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Concerto Grosso is similar in style to Bennett’s other wind ensemble compositions, most notably the Suite of Old American Dances, yet explores more non-traditional and dissonant harmonies than the suite. Bennett’s play on the relationship between sprightly Americana and the darker textures of woodwind and brass is a study in stark contrast. The form of the piece is based on the Italian Baroque concerto grosso from the Baroque period, in which a small group (in this case, the wind quintet) performs alongside a larger ensemble.

The Concerto Grosso for Wind Quintet and Wind Orchestra was commissioned by the American Wind Symphony Orchestra.

- Program Note by Kevin Holzman for the Eastman Wind Ensemble


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer