Concertino de los Filabres

From Wind Repertory Project
Javier Pérez Garrido

Javier Pérez Garrido

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: EMAIL to to obtain it
Cost: Unknown


Full Score
Bb Solo Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Bb Flugelhorn
Horn in F/Eb I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium in Bb/C
String Bass
Percussion (3 players, including:)

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash)
  • Flamenco Percussion Box
  • Hand Claps
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

'Concertino de los Filabres, Op.54' is a concerto for four solo Bb Trumpets and band commissioned by 38th International Trumpet Guild, Michigan 2013.

The Sierra de los Filabres is the largest and most central mountain range in the province of Almeria and is part of a chain of mountains extending eastwards from Granada province. The Calar Alto, the ranges highest peak at over 2,000m above sea level, houses the Calar Alto Observatory, holding significant astronomical importance in the region. Also above 2,000m are the peaks of the Tetica de Bacares and the Calar Gallinero.

A surreal landscape of dramatic hills and valleys, rustic villages, abandoned hamlets and deserted cortijos. The lower hills and valleys are graced with almond and olive trees, higher up the mountains the countryside switches to woodlands, having been reforested, the area is abundant with holm oaks and pine trees creating an excellent habitat for bird species. Seasonal climate variations flaunt changes in scenery and the winter months will often see snow on the mountain.

-Program Note by Pérez Garrido


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Grand Rapids (Mich.) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Barry Martin, conductor) - 11 June 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer