From Wind Repertory Project
Luis Serrano Alarcón

Luis Serrano Alarcón

Subtitle: For Solo Alto Saxophone, Jazz Trio, and Symphonic Band

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 26:45
Difficulty: VI (solo); IV (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Piles
Cost: Score and Parts (print) – $450.00 | Score Only (print, oversized) – $75.00


1. Andante – Tempo di Tango – Con vivacità – Andante Maestoso
2. Balada – Tempo de Milonga – Calmato
3. Molto Allegro - 7:10


Full Score
Solo Alto Saxophone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cajón Flamenco
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drum Set
  • Guiro
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Concertango is first of all a work of fusion. On the one hand there is instrumental fusion, combining a classical symphonic group with a jazz trio (piano, bass, drums). Above these two groups, the saxophone soloist is the absolute protagonist.

On the other hand, there is stylistic fusion. We can find in this piece different stylistic reminiscences, from symphonic music from the beginning of the 20th century to real jazz elements. And above all, the tango is always present, especially the person of Astor Piazzolla. The title, a clear reference to Piazzolla’s most famous pieces, such as Libertango or Violentango, makes that very clear from the very beginning that Piazzolla was the true inspiration for this piece.

- Program Note by composer



State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer