Como Canons

From Wind Repertory Project
Tyler Harrison

Tyler Harrison

Fourth movement of the composer's Symphony No. 2

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tyler Harrison Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $149.00; (digital) - $129.00   |   Score Only (print) - $49.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I am fortunate in my life to have lived in so many places. I have lived in several of the largest cities in the United States, including New York City, Los Angeles, and San Francisco. I always had difficulty writing in cities, and Montana is where I came to find solace and rest amidst my busy life. As time has passed, I realize the more I travel away from Montana, the further I am from the place that has inspired so many of my compositions. The majority of my music has either been written in Montana or about Montana. It is also where I met David Maslanka, who had such a profound influence on my life both musically and personally.

This work is named after Lake Como, a lake in the middle of the mountains in Montana’s Bitterroot Valley. The Como peaks are recognizable from a distance as the “three sisters,” three adjacent mountain peaks forming a sort of crown. The canons in the piece were inspired by the overwhelming sound of birds in the spring of 2020.

At the end of the day, Montana is where I come to commune with the gods of music. They are in the birds of the air, the open sky, the snow-covered mountains, and the amazing sunsets over the canyons. It was the place I came to get away, and now it goes by another name: home.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer