Colossus of Columbia (arr. Glover)

From Wind Repertory Project
Russell Alexander

Russell Alexander (arr. Andrew Glover)

General Info

Year: 1901 / 2022
Duration: c. 2:40
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $72.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The rhythmic drive and excitement of this march, written in 1901, reflect the composer's circus band experience. He had arranged all of the music and composed several marches during the five-year tour of Europe with the Barnum and Bailey Circus. It was in that fifth year that he wrote Colossus of Columbia and dedicated it to "the Continental Congress of Washington." Having experienced a variety of other governments, the homesick young composer must have regarded the achievements of his own America (Columbia) as "colossal."

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Central Methodist University (Fayette, Mo.) Concert Band (Skip Vandelicht, conductor) - 5 March 2023

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Perusal score
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 6.