Cloud Nine

From Wind Repertory Project
Lauren Bernofsky

Lauren Bernofsky

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 3:20
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music Co.
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $55.00; (digital) - $55.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Maracas (or Cabasa)
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This spirited work, in 3/4, maintains a quick tempo throughout. The opening, rhythmic motif builds steadily before the full band states the main theme. A lightly scored middle section leads into a restatement of the beginning material.

- Program Note from publisher

Cloud Nine begins softly, with only bass and percussion. The piece gradually builds in intensity as each instrument enters. At thre arrival of the main theme, the entire ensemble is playing. The underlying rhythm of two syncopated-sounding notes followed by three quarter notes lends excitement to this joyful, exuberant music.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

  • West Virginia: II


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of South Dakota (Brookings) Communiversity Band (Kevin Kessler, conductor) - 22 April 2022
  • Columbus (Ohio) State Community College Concert Band (Thomas Lloyd, conductor) - 3 March 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Bernofsky, L. (2002). Cloud Nine [score]. FJH Music: Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 264.
  • Perusal score
  • Lauren Bernofsky website Accessed 5 September 2020