Climbing Parnassus

From Wind Repertory Project
Jonathan Newman

Jonathan Newman

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: OK Feel Good Music
Cost: Parts (Rental) - $250   |   Score Only (Purchase) - $24.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Alto Flute
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Piccolo Trumpet
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Crotale (bowed)
  • Handbells (2)
  • Marimba (bowed)
  • Vibraphone (bowed)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In Aeschulus, Creon speaks of "the double peaks of snow-clad Parnassus"—the ancient site of the Oracle of Delphi, and the mountain most sacred to Apollo. As the home of The Muses, Parnassus is the spiritual source of music, poetry, and art. Centuries ago, when Greek and Latin were an integral part of a Western education, the phrase "Climbing Parnassus" meant the pursuit of a career as a poet, writer, composer, or artist. Dreamlike and spacious, Climbing Parnassus presents an imagined chorale fragment, ascending and transforming through an expanse of sound.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Temple University (Philadelphia, Penn.) Wind Symphony (Emily Threinen, conductor) – 27 April 2012
  • Kawasaki University of Medical Welfare (Kurashiki, Japan) Wind Orchestra (Toshiya Iwata, conductor) – 26 February 2010 (CBDNA 2010 Southern Division Conference, Oxford, Miss.)
  • Indiana University Wind Ensemble, Bloomington IN (Stephen Pratt, conductor) – 23 April 2009
  • Nagoya Wind Symphony, Aichi Arts Theatre Concert Hall, Nagoya, Japan (Mamoru NAKATA, conductor) – 5 May 2008
  • Kawasaki University of Medical Welfare (Kurashiki, Japan) Heartful Winds (Toshiya IWATA, conductor) – 20 April 2008

Works for Winds by This Composer