Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Clarinet on the Town

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ralph Hermann

Ralph Hermann

General Info

Year: 1963
Duration: c. 4:55
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $163.99   |   Score Only (print) - $4.50


Condensed Score
Solo Clarinet
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom Tom
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Clarinet on the Town is a modern novelty clarinet solo of medium difficulty. It begins with a bright, romping section, going next to a blues section, and finally returning to the first theme with a real "curtain-raising" coda. Its capricious character makes this a good encore number.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Hermann, R. (1964). Clarinet on the Town [score]. Carl Fischer: New York.