Christmas Overture (arr. Derharke)

From Wind Repertory Project
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (arr. Joe Derharke)

General Info

Year: 1911-1925 / 2022
Duration: c. 4:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Keiser Southern Music Company, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00; (digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $14.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (or Keyboard)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes/Glockenspiel
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Vibraphone/Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Christmas Overture was originally conceived as incidental music for a 'charming poetical fairy drama' by Alfred Noyes, The Forest of Wild Thyme. It is a nicely put-together piece, being more than just a potpourri of Christmas tunes, but cleverly integrating some famous carols like Hark the Herald Angels Sing and God Rest You, Merry Gentlemen into a pleasantly coherent work.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

The Forest of Wild Thyme was incidental music to a play by Alfred Noyes. The play was never staged with Coleridge-Taylor's music. The composer may not have reached the point of orchestrating the music. Four of the movements were issued as piano scores, and The Christmas Overture was issued in an orchestration by Sydney Baynes in 1925.

- Program Note from IMSLP


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Danse Negre (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Bukin) (1898/2020)

All Wind Works