Christmas Music for Winds

From Wind Repertory Project
John Cacavas

Arranged and adapted by John Cacavas

Subtitle: A Symphonic Scenario

General Info

Year: 1964
Duration: c. 7:15
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bourne
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.50   |   Score Only - $11.25


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Xylophone
  • Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Sleigh bells

Vocal scores


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work contains Adeste Fideles, Silent Night, Jolly Old St. Nicholas, O Little Town of Bethlehem, Away in a Manger, Twelves Days of Christmas, and Angels We have Heard on High. It may be performed by band alone or with optional voices, and is popular as a holiday audience sing-along.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Cacavas, John (adapt./arr.) (1964). Christmas Music for Winds: A Symphonic Scenario for Concert Band. Bourne: New York.