Chin Ting Chan

From Wind Repertory Project
Chin Ting Chan


Chin Ting (Patrick) Chan (b. 1986, Hong Kong) is a Hong Kong-American composer and audio engineer residing in the United States.

Dr. Chan holds a D.M.A. from the University of Missouri–Kansas City as well as degrees from Bowling Green State University and San José State University. His primary teachers include Chen Yi, Zhou Long, James Mobberley, Paul Rudy, Marilyn Shrude, and Brian Belet.

He current is assistant professor of music composition at Ball State University. He previously held faculty positions at the University of Missouri–Kansas City and Kansas City Kansas Community College.

Dr. Chan has been a fellow and guest composer at the International Computer Music Conference, the International Rostrum of Composers, IRCAM’s ManiFeste, the ISCM World Music Days Festival, June in Buffalo, the mise-en music festival and the Wellesley Composers Conference.

Chan is interested in representing impressions of the visual world with sonic images. It is often inspired by patterns and shapes he discovers in daily objects, as well as imaginary landscapes he sometimes encounters. These abstract concepts are projected to a music that is characterized by continuous mutations and complex harmonic progressions within a multi-layered texture.

Awards and commissions include those from the American Prize, ASCAP, Association for the Promotion of New Music, the Charlotte Street Foundation, Foundation for Modern Music, the Hong Kong Composers’ Guild, the MidAmerican Center for Contemporary Music, the Interdisciplinary Festival for Music and Sound Art – Shut Up and Listen!, the Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation of China, MMTA/MTNA, newEar, the New-Music Consortium, the Soli fan tutti Composition Prize, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts and others. His works are published with the ABLAZE Records, Darling’s Acoustical Delight, Melos Music, Music from SEAMUS, the SCI Journal of Music Scores and Unfolding Music Publishing (ASCAP).

Works for Winds


  • Chin Ting Chan website Accessed 26 March 2022
  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 283.