Chaconne (In Memoriam...)

From Wind Repertory Project
Ron Nelson

Ron Nelson

General Info

Year: 1995
Duration: c. 9:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: LudwigMasters Publications, through Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (all div. a2)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-VI
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes (extended high range required (high G5))
  • Crotales (both octaves)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba (2 players)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Vibraphone (with motor)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The piece, elegiac in nature, is in three-part form built on an eight-measure chord progression that is repeated over and over as it supports a series of variations. The middle section features quotes from the Brahms chorale prelude, O Welt, ich muss dich lassen (Oh world, I must now leave). The theme of this chorale is also woven into the textures of the final section. The final section, a huge benediction, is very dark-composed of overlapping descending passages in the aeolian mode.

Through this texture, the trumpets project each choral phrase: musical shafts of light and hope.

Chaconne (In Memoriam...) was written in fulfillment of a commission from the American Bandmasters Association.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Nelson, R. (1995). Chaconne: (In Memoriam--): For Symphonic Band [score]. Ludwig Music: Cleveland, Ohio.
  • Ron Nelson website Accessed 13 October 2022