Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Ceremonies (Zwilich)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ellen Taaffe Zwilich

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich

General Info

Year: 1988 / 1991
Duration: c. 18:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Maestoso - 5:10
2. Elegy
3. Allegro Vivo


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum (large and small)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum (small)
  • Suspended Cymbal (high and medium)
  • Timpanum
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the Florida State University (FSU) School of Music, with funding assistance from affiliated FSU partners and the Florida Department of State Division of Cultural Affairs, Ceremonies (previously entitled Symphony for Winds), was premiered by the Florida State University Wind Orchestra, James Croft, conductor, at the National American Band Masters Association in Tallahassee, Florida.

- Program Note by Jerry Grimshaw for the Oakland University Wind Symphony concert program, 22 February 2018

Zwilich's long experience as an ensemble performer is clearly shown in this idiomatic work. The three movements in Maestoso/Allegro, featuring the development of three motifs; Elegy (in memory of Manley P. Whitcomb, director of bands and coordinator of music education at FSU from 1953 to 1977); and Allegro Vivo, beginning with an active melody and concluding with a return to the opening Maestoso.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: V
  • Maryland: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Ellen Taaffe Zwilich website Accessed 28 February 2018
  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 526.
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 668.
  • Zwilich, E. (1991). Ceremonies: For Band [score]. Merion Music: Bryn Mawr, Penn.