Celebrations (Perschetti)

From Wind Repertory Project
Vincent Persichetti

Vincent Persichetti

Subtitle: Cantata No. 3 for Chorus and Wind Ensemble

This work bears the designation Opus 103.

General Info

Year: 1966
Duration: c. 23:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts - $75.00   |   Score Only - $25.00


1. Stranger
2. I Celebrate Myself
3. You Who Celebrate Bygones
4. There is That in Me
5. Sing Me the Universal
6. Flaunt Out O Sea
7. I Sing the Body Electric
8. A Clear Midnight
9. Voyage


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet/Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tenor Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

There is a great sense of warmth and joy in the score, and this effective setting of Walt Whitman's text allows the words to project with perfect naturalness.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Kansas: VI
  • Louisiana: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Wind Ensemble (Thomas Gamboa, conductor) - 19 April 2023
  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Concert Band (Courtney Snyder, conductor) – 15 April 2019
  • Denison University (Granville, Ohio) Wind Ensemble (Christopher David Westover, conductor) – 27 April 2018
  • Temple University (Philadelphia, Penn.) Wind Symphony (Emily Threinen, conductor) – 9 October 2015

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Persichetti, V. Whitman, W. (1967). Celebrations: Cantata No. 3: Chorus and Wind Ensemble [score]. Elkan-Vogel: Philadelphia.