Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Celebration Overture (ed Madden)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Paul Creston

Paul Creston (rev. John T. Madden)

This work bears the designation Opus 61.

General Info

Year: 1954 / 2016
Duration: c. 7:20
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $135.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Celebration Overture was commissioned by Edwin Franko Goldman for the American Bandmasters Association Convention in 1955. It was premiered there with the composer conducting. The work is in three sections; the first has a march-like quality, the second is quiet and pastoral, and the third is rhythmically crisp while building to a triumphant conclusion.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

It consists of three sections: fast, slow, and fast—like the Italian Baroque overture. In style it differs considerably from its ancestor. Regarding Celebration Overture, Creston wrote as follows: “I was preoccupied with matters of melodic design, harmonic coloring, rhythmic pulse, and formal progression, not with limitations of nature or narrations of fairy tales." This bright and festive overture justifies its title with short and rhythmic melodies along with sonorous harmonies.

- Program notes from Band Music Notes, Paul Creston, and Duane J. Mikow

Dedicated to the memory of Robert D. Jorgensen, Director of Bands Emeritus at The University of Akron.

- Program Note from score

This 2016 edition (edited by John T. Madden) is completely re-engraved, correcting errors from the earlier original printing.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer