Celebration Overture (Jenkins)

From Wind Repertory Project
Darren Jenkins

Darren Jenkins

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Winger-Jones Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A true celebration of life, and all of the wonderful, positive events we get to experience. The majestic brass fanfare, combined with musically expressive themes, will lift everyone's spirits. Effective scoring allows all sections to contribute lyric material, before returning to the opening majestic fanfare for a brilliant and dramatic conclusion.

-Program Note from publisher

Celebration Overture is a work meant to reflect a celebration of life and all of the wonderful and positive events we are lucky enough to experience. The piece begins with a majestic horn fanfare that leads to the initial melodic statement in the horns and alto saxophones. The trumpets soon take over the next statement, followed by the upper woodwinds with a new, lyrical idea that eventually leads to a short brass chorale, and back to the original melodic statement in the low brass. The piece then transitions with small fragments of the theme in the horns and slows down to the lyrical section of the work, beginning with a solo oboe, bassoon and bass clarinet trio. The full band restates the lyrical theme, followed by a somewhat pensive version in the flutes and clarinets. It then builds to one last climactic statement of the lyrical theme by the full band before returning to the allegro brillante tempo from the beginning. Various fragments of the initial melodic statement are presented again, building to a final statement of the original melody in the low brass, and a triumphant fanfare bringing the work to a dramatic conclusion. I hope that you [enjoy] playing this piece.

-Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Catskill Valley Wind Ensemble (Oneonta, N.Y.) (Scott Rabeler, conductor) - 16 November 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer