Celebration Fanfare (Walczyk)

From Wind Repertory Project
Kevin Walczyk

Kevin Walczyk (arranged by the composer)

General Info

Year: 2003
Duration: c. 4:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Keveli Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $110.00; (digital) - $110.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00; (digital) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom (medium)
  • Triangle (medium)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Celebration Fanfare was originally commissioned in 2003 by the Oregon Symphony to commemorate two separate occasions that reflect the past and the present: The bicentennial celebration of the Lewis and Clark expedition, and the symphony's transition of music directors. The former pays tribute to Meriwether Lewis and William Clark, the two men who surpassed insurmountable odds to lead the Corps of Discovery through the newly acquired Louisiana Territory in search of a water route to the Pacific Ocean. The latter pays tribute to former Oregon Symphony Music Director James DePriest, and newly appointed Oregon Symphony Music Director Carlos Kalmar.

With the pervasive motif of the numeral two serving as a thread of continuity to these occasions, the melodic and harmonic building blocks of the work are based on the interval of a major 2nd, which represents the two sets of two men on two different journeys. Similarly, the basic rhythmic building block is comprised of two durations -- a short duration immediately succeeded by a longer duration. These compositional elements become protracted in the primary melody and countermelodies, but remain unaltered in much of the accompaniment. The work elicits a bold, declamatory style with a determined energy level that, representative of the men and their respective journeys, builds to the end of the work.

The Oregon Symphony, under the direction of Maestro Carlos Kalmar, premiered Celebration Fanfare on November 22, 2003. The symphonic band edition was prepared for and premiered by the University of Oklahoma Wind Symphony (Dr. William Wakefield, director of bands).

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer