From Wind Repertory Project
Philip Sparke

Philip Sparke

General Info

Year: 1993
Duration: c. 11:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Studio Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $204.00   |   Score Only - $24.50


Full Score
C Piccolo (doubling Flute III)
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Celebration was commissioned by the Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra. They gave the premier at the Matsue Plover Hall in Japan on June 11, 1992. The work celebrates the incredible virtuosity of the Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra, the optimism of the human spirit, and the glorious results that can be achieved when musicians play together towards a common good, a whole that is greater than the sum of its parts.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

The piece opens with a sonorous fanfare from the brass. This is repeated against interpolations from high woodwinds. Eventually the texture thins and a solo flute introduces a new, tender theme. This builds through the band until the original fanfare reappears. But this loses its confidence and is dispelled by an off-stage flourish from the trumpets, which introduces a more sinister element.

The Presto arrives, with a brass figure derived from the opening fanfare and running passages in the winds. A robust trumpet tune introduces the main theme of the Presto in the high winds. This is taken up by the whole band, and a bridge passage derived from elements of this theme leads to a climax, after which the horns introduce a new chordal fanfare, followed by the trumpets. The earlier bridge passage leads us back to a recapitulation of the main themes from the Presto. But the brass reintroduce the chordal fanfare against the main woodwind theme. From this point, the piece gains momentum into an extended Coda which introduces new material until a series of strident chords bring it to a crashing close.

- Program notes from score


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: V
  • North Carolina: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer