Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Cave of the Winds

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Nathaniel Dett

Robert Nathaniel Dett (arr. Perna)

This work was originally subtitled "March and Two Step."

General Info

Year: 1902/2013
Duration: c. 2:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ludwig Masters

Cost: Score and Parts - $75.00   |   Score Only - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

As Dett was born on the edge of Niagara Falls, a composition to commemorate one of Niagara's prominent features is not unexpected. With this march it is easy to understand why John Philip Sousa is said to have admired Dett’s work. Originally written for piano, this march in sparkles from beginning to end with attractive melodic and harmonic material as well as a rollicking sense of rhythm.

-Program Note from The Instrumentalist, August 2014, p. 43


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Michigan Technological University (Houghton) Campus Concert Band (Michael Christianson, conductor) - 24 April 2022
  • SUNY Potsdam Crane Wind Ensemble (Brian K. Doyle, conductor) - 24 September 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer