Castle House Rag

From Wind Repertory Project
James Reese Europe

James Reese Europe (arr. Thomas Clark)

Subtitle: Trot & One-Step

General Info

Year: 1914
Duration: c. 2:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Dance band
Publisher: Jos. Stern
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
D-flat Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
E-flat Cornet
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Tenor
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Rattle
  • Snare Drum
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1914, the most famous exponents of modern social dance were Vernon and Irene Castle. Their revolutionary style did away with bulky moves associated with dances of the late nineteenth century and replaced them with elegant and streamlined athleticism. The Castles brought a new wave of popularity to dancing and much of their popularity was due to their daringness; the white Castles had hired an African-American orchestra to accompany them in a time when such public integration was nearly unknown. James Reese Europe (1881-1919) served as the Castle’s musical director.

Castle House Rag is a multi-themed work with sparse and subtle use of syncopation. But the effect that is has is electrifying due to the unabashed energy exhibited and a quasi-improvisational manner in which the musicians play.

- Program Note from Library of Congress


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • United States Military Academy (West Point, N.Y.) Band (Daniel Toven, conductor) - 28 January 2023
  • SUNY Potsdam Crane Wind Ensemble (Brian K. Doyle, conductor) - 24 September 2021
  • United States Marine Band (Washington, D.C.) (Jason K. Fettig, conductor) – 26 May 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer