From Wind Repertory Project
Johan de Meij

Johan de Meij

Subtitle: For Cello and Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 26:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Amstel Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $435.00   |   Score Only (print) - $94.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Prologo - Il Tema di Messer Grande (Prologue - the Messer Grande Theme) - 1:44
2. Cadenza - Atto di Presentazione (Cadenza - Casanova presents himself) - 1:57
3. La Vita a Corte (Court live) - 2:24
4. L'Arresto di Casanova (Casanova's arrest) - 2:37
5. Reminiscenze (Reveries) - 6:30
6. L'Evasione dai Piombi (Escape from the Piombi Prison) - 6:32
7. M.M. e C.C. (M.M. and C.C.) - 1:46
8. Finale e Stretto: Il Trionfo dell'Amore (Love's triumph) - 2:50


Solo Cello
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Dobachi (Japanese Temple Bells) (2)
  • Finger Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Lion's Roar
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Block
  • Thundersheet
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


  • Mallets, m.628, beat 3: Vibraphone D should read D-sharp.

Program Notes

The composition Casanova is a musical portrait of Giacomo Casanova who lived from 1725 to 1798. This illustrious character, represented by the violoncello, takes shape by means of eight musical scenes. The events concentrate on some of the most striking episodes from Casanova’s adventurous life: his arrest, his captivity and his escape from the ill-famed Piombi prison in Venice. By composing this work, two of my long-lived dreams came true. First of all, I wanted to write a musical homage to one of my favorite composers, Giacomo Puccini. Secondly, for many years I have had the intention to compose a substantial work for violoncello and winds.

Casanova was commissioned by the Dutch Music Foundation "Fonds voor de Scheppende Toonkunst" at the request of the symphonic band "Sint Michaël" of Thorn and it is dedicated to the band’s conductor Heinz Friesen. Soloist Roeland Duijne gave the official world premiere performance on 2 April 2000 at the Vredenburg Concert Hall in Utrecht.

-Program Note from composer



  • International Composition Competition for Band in Corciano, Italy, 1999, winner

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer