Capriol Suite (arr Thompson)

From Wind Repertory Project
Peter Warlock

Peter Warlock (arr. Ray Thompson)

This work may also appear under the title Capriol Suite

General Info

Year: 1926 / 2019
Duration: c.10:00
Original Medium: Piano duet
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ray Thompson Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $19.95


1. Basse-Danse, Allegro moderato, D minor
2. Pavane, Allegretto, ma un poco lento, G minor
3. Tordion, Con moto, G minor
4. Bransles, Presto, G minor
5. Pieds-en-l'air, Andante tranquillo, G major
6. Mattachins (Sword Dance), Allegro con brio, F major


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
Horn in F


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Capriol Suite is a set of dances composed in October 1926 by Peter Warlock, and is considered one of his most popular works. Originally written for piano duet, Warlock later scored it for both string and full orchestras. According to the composer, it was based on tunes in Thoinot Arbeau's Orchésographie, a manual of Renaissance dances. Nevertheless, Warlock's biographer, Cecil Gray, said that "if one compares these tunes with what the composer has made of them, it will be seen that to all intents and purposes it can be regarded as an original work."

The work is dedicated to the Breton Composer Paul Ladmirault.

The individual movements are very brief; a performance of the suite lasts about 10 minutes.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Chamber Winds (Courtney Snyder, conductor) – 1 November 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer